Review of Mary Morgan’s DRAGON KNIGHT’S MEDALLION, book 2 ~ released today!

“The author has created a fantastic fantasy word with her own special spin on ancient legends and myth that spins a web and ensnared the reader. The story has some surprising twists and lots of charming characters and takes the reader on a journey to historical Scotland.” ~ Literary Addicts

5bbb5c_eb5bfd89f50c4897ba00a18e72121ae1.jpg_srz_250_375_75_22_0.50_1.20_0Title: Dragon Knights Medallion, book 2, Order of the Dragon Knights Series
Author: Mary Morgan
Genre: Medieval Historical Romance
Story Setting: Arbroath Abbey, Scotland—Spring Equinox 1206, Present day—Boston, Massachusetts
Published By: The Wild Rose Press, Inc.
Published Date: December 5, 2014
Pages: 402
ISBN-10: 1628306440
ISBN-13: 978-1628306446

Buy Links


About the Story: To right a wrong, two souls are brought together only to shatter when they are torn apart by the deeds of an evil druid. Dragon Knight, Stephen MacKay’s powers are altered after the death of his sister. Now he is plagued with visions that threaten to destroy his soul. When Aileen Kerrigan falls through a time tunnel, he vows to keep her safe, despite the fact the beautiful but head-strong half-blooded fae could be the death of him. When Aileen finds out her dad is a Fenian Warrior, she flees to a nearby ruin. Armed with the medallion her mother gave her, and a matching one belonging to a long dead knight, she is flung into the past and finds a handsome but surly warrior who is on a quest. Now it seems her future could be entwined with his, if she doesn’t kill him first.

My Thoughts: Mary Morgan writes a mean story. I’m really excited about this newbie author. She articulates a fantasy world that surrounded me in all its wonder! This one was awesome. She kept me reading way longer than I should have. I COULD NOT put the book down. The intensity and emotion she elicited in me, kept me in tears. Once I thought I was past the emotional scene, I’d dry my eyes and she’d put me right back bawling my head off. Do you know how hard it is to read and cry at the same time? You have, if you’ve found a well-written book with highly emotional scenes.   And you will if you pick up this author.

I praised the author’s first book, Dragon Knight’s Sword and said it had everything. Here’s the link to review of book one.

This one tore me apart.

Stephen MacKay, like his brother Duncan, in book 1, had to redeem himself for the wrong committed on holy ground at the Standing Stones. He wanted to turn from the old ways: From the fae, druids, gods and goddesses. He hid from himself while staying with the monks of an abbey, trying to block the horror of his past, and his feelings of unworthiness, yet unable to take the old ways from who he was. But his destiny and the path to redemption was waiting him. Among the brethren were druids who were interested in bridging the old ways with the new. He sensed in them only good.

When Rome came to cleanse the community of people believing in the old ways, Stephen decided to make himself useful by protecting, Ian MacDuff, a young 10-year old who was ordained to be the next Master Druid. Stephen’s path isn’t easy and he doesn’t believe it is possible to be redeemed, nor does he feel worthy to be a Dragon Knight. He helps a community of fifty or so people escape the cleansing only to be followed by the evil druid, Lachlan, whom we met in book 1.

Stephen had also lost the holy relic that had been bonded to him. His brother, Duncan, had regained his sword in book 1. Book 2 is the story of Stephen’s journey. When the holy relics were torn from the Dragon Knight’s, the Guardian had placed a curse upon all four brothers who were removed from the Hall of Orders:

“Across the sea their destiny awaits. A love will meet through time and space. “To right a wrong within this place. Beneath the gate to test your fate.”

Help once again comes from another time and land. Aileen Kerrigan enjoyed her life in Boston, Massachusetts. She lived in an old mansion over 200 years old, and worked with her friends and aunt in the Society of the Thistle.

Aidan Kerrigan, Aileen’s father, left her a year ago when her mother died. She was devastated and more so when her father left a week later to the archeological digs in Scotland. Now, he has asked for Aileen with the society to assist in doing research at Arbroath Abbey. What could he possibly want from her?

Aileen was a woman who loved her father, though she felt he had betrayed her. She was protected by Stephen, a man she had come to love. They protected her body, keeping her safe, but what of her heart? Could she be strong enough to fight where she didn’t want to be?

As with the first book in the series, Mary Morgan has created a world with her imagination teaming with magic and the knowledge that not always can your destiny be channeled by your own efforts. Take a chance with a new author, kind reader. She is well-worth the read. So Mary, tell us when you’ll have the next part of the series ready?


About the Author:  5bbb5c_7d4699be9425491d990b9ffcb699ad47.jpg_srz_346_488_75_22_0.50_1.20_0I am a constant daydreamer and have been told quite often to remove my head from the clouds. Yet, this is where I find the magic to write my stories. Not only do I love to weave a good tale, but I have a voracious appetite for reading. I worked for Borders Books for almost fourteen years. Imagine my delight to be surrounded by so many books, talking to others about them, and getting paid.

 Pure bliss!

 I have traveled to England, Scotland, Ireland, and France. There are those who know me well when I say, “My heart is in the Highlands.” I believe I have left it there or maybe in Ireland.

When not writing, I enjoy playing in my garden–another place where magic grows. Of course, there is time spent with my family. They are the ones that keep me grounded.

About eileendandashi

I am a lover of books, both reading and writing. 2018 marks the beginning of my own journey from writer to published author. This blog will showcase various authors' thoughts on the elements of novel crafting, and my attempts to find my voice in writing. While journaling this journey, I hope to encourage others to follow their dreams. Book reviews continue as I have the last four years, only making time for my new pursuits.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fantasy Romance, Historical Romance, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Supernatural Suspense and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s